Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Another Newbie Here

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Another Newbie Here Empty Another Newbie Here Thu Jun 16, 2022 3:17 pm

eugenet

I'm just here to say Bravo! to the SimulIDE team. I'm an IT professional for over 20 years and now I'm trying to learn electronics just for fun.

I've always had trouble understanding voltage drop. With just one afternoon tinkering with SimulIDE, I drew a simple circuit and poked around it with virtual voltmeters and probes. Now I can visualize voltage drops. Very powerful learning tool.

In the same afternoon, I also managed to control a servo with an ATTiny85, all virtually via SimulIDE of course. The icing on the cake? I could view the PWM signals with a virtual oscilloscope. My first time operating a scope which costs $400 in real life!

Yes SimulIDE crashed quite a few times, but it seems to be due to making changes to the circuit while it was running the simulation. Just need to remember to power off the circuit before making any changes.

You guys have every right to be proud of what you are doing.

Another Newbie Here Untitl10

2Another Newbie Here Empty Re: Another Newbie Here Thu Jun 16, 2022 4:09 pm

n3645

SimulIDE team is one man team, AFAIK. Smile
The rest of us are just spoiled man requiring many features... Wink

3Another Newbie Here Empty Re: Another Newbie Here Thu Jun 16, 2022 8:36 pm

arcachofo

arcachofo

Hi eugenet.
I'm glad that simulide was useful for you.

About those crashes... yes, editing the circuit while running was a nice feature but very problematic.
Indeed it is disabled in last versions.
Also the Windows version is always more problematic, and still trying to find the cause of some of those issues.

n3645 wrote:SimulIDE team is one man team, AFAIK.
The rest of us are just spoiled man requiring many features...
Lol.